• Thomas Bonifield

The Christmas Special from "The Chosen" Coming to Television

Updated: Dec 23, 2021

Trinity Broadcasting Network will air the hit holiday production twice over the next several days.

Sara Anne plays Mary in a scene from "Christmas with The Chosen:  The Messengers."
Sara Anne plays Mary in a scene from "Christmas with The Chosen: The Messengers." Image: "The Chosen"/Angel Studios.

After a very successful theatrical run and a global livestreaming event, Christmas with The Chosen: The Messengers is now coming to the broadcast airwaves. It will run tonight and again on Christmas day on TBN, which is a national Christian channel.


This production from The Chosen - the hit series about the life of Christ - has enjoyed huge success already, bringing in more than $13 million in box office revenue and shattering ticket-sales records for distributor Fathom Events, as we reported here. The response has been so positive that series creator and director Dallas Jenkins says it's given him and his team the "confidence to do this again."


We'll see about that, but first they have to produce season three of the show, which just became fully funded today at a whopping $18 million! That money was raised largely through the program's pay-it-forward program from some 51,000 people; it will cover the costs of production for eight new episodes and Jenkins aims to start shooting in the spring.


In the meantime, this Yuletide program features numerous Christian musical acts performing Christmas numbers, dramatic monologues about the Christmas story and a stand-alone episode of the show that tells the Nativity story through the eyes of Mary and Joseph. You can catch it on TBN tonight at 9:00 PM EST/8:00 PM CST and again on Christmas Day at 2:00 PM EST/1:00 PM CST. The trailer below will give you a feel for what to expect.